What are the Ten Bodies?

The Ten Bodies

"If you understand that you are Ten Bodies, and you are aware of those Ten Bodies, and you keep them in balance, the whole universe will be in balance with you." ~ Yogi Bhajan

The Ten Bodies

1st Soul Body
2nd Negative Mind
3rd Positive Mind
4th Neutral Mind
5th Physical Body
6th Arcline
7th Aura
8th Pranic Body
9th Subtle Body
10th Radiant Body

what are the ten bodies?

You can visualize your various bodies as layers of clothing, the physical body being the overcoat you wear for a lifetime. We know we have a physical body; we can see it, touch it, and feel it. We also have other bodies that are equally real, if not more so.2

The truth is that the human body is made up of ten bodies: the physical body, three mental bodies, and six energy bodies.1 The eleventh embodiment – when all ten bodies are under your direction – produces a pure state of consciousness when you have the ability to see all events as God’s Play and recognize the God in all.1

characteristics of the ten bodies*

First Body: Soul Body

  • The part in you connected to the Infinite. Your inner infinity.
  • Humility, Creativity.
  • Key Phrase: “Heart over Head.”
  • Mastery: Come from a place of great humility, relax in to the flow of God energy and use it to create beauty.
  • If weak: Come from the head instead of heart; feel stuck, not able to access your purpose and creative flow.
  • Key to Balancing: Raise the Kundalini. Open the Heart.

The Three Mental Bodies:

Second Body: Negative (Protective) Mind

  • Identifies possible dangers or shortcomings in a situation. Necessary for protection.
  • Containment, Obedience.
  • Key Phrase: “Longing to Belong.”
  • Mastery: Gives form to the creativity of your Soul Body via containment, form, and discernment. A longing to connect very deeply with your own God Self.
  • If weak: Inappropriate, self-destructive relationships. Over-influenced by others.
  • Key to Balancing: Value your discipline. Develop conscious relationships of integrity. Strengthen the Positive Mind if the Negative Mind is overdeveloped.

Third Body: Positive (Expansive) Mind

  • Inspires you by showing the best possible results in any situation.
  • Equality, Positivity.
  • Key Phrase: “Devil or Divine.”
  • Mastery: Strong will, use power easily and humbly. Naturally playful and optimistic.
  • Good sense of humor. Can communicate directly.
  • If weak: Overwhelmed by input of the Negative Mind, which can be depressing and paralyzing. Angry and intolerant, or hesitant to use your own power because of being afraid of the responsibility.
  • Key to Balancing: Strengthen the Navel Point (Third Chakra). Use positive affirmations. Strengthen the Negative Mind if the Positive Mind is overdeveloped.

Fourth Body: Neutral (Meditative) Mind

  • Takes the information from both Negative and Positive Minds and decides on the best course of action using unbiased, intuitive knowledge.
  • Service, Compassion, Integration.
  • Key Phrase: “Cup of Prayer.”
  • Mastery: A very intuitive vantage point. Allows access to the soul.
  • If weak: Difficult to make decisions. The habit of feeling victimized. A hard time seeing beyond the polarities of life.
  • Key to Balancing: Meditate.

Fifth Body: Physical Body

  • The vehicle through which you participate fully on earth.
  • Sacrifice, Balance, Teacher.
  • Key Phrase: “Teacher, Balance.”
  • Mastery: represent the teacher who is able to take abstractions and explain them to anyone. Ability to balance all parts of your life without extremes like laziness or fanaticism.
  • If weak: Angry, jealous, greedy, competitive, and ungrateful. Inner and outer realities out of balance. Trouble expressing yourself verbally. Afraid to be in the position of teacher.
  • Key to Balancing: Exercise regularly. Teach.

Sixth Body: Arcline

  • The arcline extends from ear to ear, across the hairline and brow. It’s your halo, the nucleus of the aura.
  • Associated with the pituitary gland, regulates the nervous system and glandular balance.
  • Women have a second arcline reaching across the chest from nipple to nipple.
  • Justice, Protection, Projection.
  • Key Phrase “Person at Prayer.”
  • Balance between physical and cosmic realms.
  • Mastery: Ability to focus, to be concentrated, to meditate. Use the intuition of the Sixth Body to protect yourself from life’s stresses and avoid shutting down your heart.
  • If weak: Overprotective. Easily influenced. Glandular imbalances leading to inconsistency in moods and behavior. Unfocused and unable to manifest prayers.
  • Key to Balancing: Awaken the pituitary gland (Sixth Chakra).

Seventh Body: Auric Body

  • The aura is the electromagnetic field that surrounds your body. It acts as a container for your life force, bringing confidence and security.
  • Mercy, Security, Love.
  • Key Phrase: “Platform of Elevation.”
  • Mastery: Attracts positivity and repels negativity, like a shield. Illness cannot penetrate to your physical body. Sense of security allows an uplifting presence and treating others with mercy.
  • If weak: Paranoid, lack self-trust. Negativity can penetrate into the psyche and physical body.
  • Key to Balancing: Meditate. Wear white clothing made of natural fibers. Work on the Eighth Chakra.

Eighth Body: Pranic Body

  • Through the breath, the Pranic Body continuously brings the life force and energy into your system.
  • Purity, Energy, Fearlessness, Self-initiation.
  • Key Phrase: “Finite to Infinite.”
  • Mastery: Fearless, fully alive, at one with all creation. Nothing can bother you. Self-motivated with enough energy to achieve goals.
  • If weak: Constant low-level anxiety and chronic fatigue. Look to food or stimulants for energy. Fearful, defensive.
  • Key to Balancing: All pranayam.

Ninth Body: Subtle Body

  • The Subtle Body helps you see beyond the immediate realties of life to the sublime universal play that lies beyond.
  • Calmness, Subtlety, Mastery.
  • Key Phrase: “Mastery or Mystery.”
  • Mastery: Have great finesse and a powerful calmness. Learn quickly and master situations easily. Able to walk into a room and intuitively know what’s going on.
  • If weak: Naïve and easily fooled, unintentionally crude or rough in speech or behavior. Restless.
  • Key to Balancing: Do any meditation or kriya for 1,000 days.

Tenth Body: Radiant Body

  • The Radiant Body gives spiritual royalty and radiance.
  • Royal Courage, Radiance, Nobility.
  • Key Phrase: “All or Nothing.”
  • Mastery: Courageous in the face of any obstacle. Magnetic presence and command the respect of all who know you.
  • If weak: Afraid of conflict, shy away from people’s attention. Feel ineffective and unable to come through in situations.
  • Key to Balancing: Commitment. Do not cut hair.

Eleventh embodiment

Eleven represents the sound current, the source of Infinity from which all mantras originate. In this state you can direct the play of all Ten Bodies; eleven contains all. You can direct all parts of your being from an impersonal, expansive space that allows Infinity to flow through you at all times.1

As Yogi Bhajan explained, “When the God in you, and the human in you are in parallel unisonness, then you are an 11. You have no duality, you have divine vision, and the truth flows from you. You don’t have to find anything outside of you. The jewels are all in you – you are rich inside, you have satisfaction and contentment.”